top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDaniel Harkins

Narrative Weaknesses

Throughout my adolescent years, I have always been fond of action narratives that contain adventure, discovery, and drama. Not only do I prefer reading these types of narratives, but I also prefer to watch action movies that keep me eager to see what occurs after the current scene. A book that I tend to read over and over again is “The Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collins which. This is an action book that consists of a corrupted Capitol region surrounded by 12 poor districts. Each district must yield a boy and a girl through a lottery system to fight to the death. I admire this book because it portrays a possible future scenario, and is full of sudden action and drama. Every time I read it, I am left with an identical reaction of satisfaction. Furthermore, a movie I watch repeatedly is “The Fate of the Furious”, which is an action movie with a special crew who are constantly getting into situations involving high speed vehicle chases. I cherish this movie because there’s always something unexpected going on, and involves high speed vehicle chases with unique vehicles of my dreams. A song that sings the story of my life is “Forever” by Drake. I admire this song because It was the first hip-hop song I found myself interested in, and sparked my desire for hip-hop and rap music. Since then, I have listened to various hip-hop artists and albums, and cherish researching to beats and upcoming artists. Plus, this song allows me to recollect events from my child hood in my prior hometown. Although I like various types of stories, the story that I cannot turn away from is a story that teaches life lessons and values. Personally, I prefer stories that embody meaning and significance rather than stores solely made for entertainment. I am a strong believer that stories are written with a purpose, and that purpose must be found by the reader.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

3/20 Wix Blog (The Shawshank Redemption).

Throughout Spring Break, I watched and read many unique stories. I watched the news, read a plethora of articles, and watched many films on Netflix. One of the narratives that I watched and found inte

bottom of page